Opening Day - Windburn in Beecher
Another season begins - this time at Shady Lawn, or Cardinal Creek. I've hit 3 buckets, and putted twice, and chipped once. Really not enough, esp. since most work is on turf, an annual problem. Weather also has been coolish. Goal is to break 100 today. Played North side first, made my first putt(1 foot). Hit 5 FW on front, so decent drives. The rest of the clubs were subpar. Hit way behind about 6 balls, resulting in muddy divots. Best drive was on 5, 25 yds from green, still needed great lag after approach thin. Got 1st birdie on 8, a par-5, draining 20-footer crossgrain. Good to get off schnod; the longer you go without one of those, you start pressing. Had 4 4's on front, for 48. Not bad. Almost had sand save on 7. Greens were a little slow, probly cause of wet. Back nine pretty bad, for me. Didnt hit 1 fairway with wood. Had 4 bogeys, couldnt keep momentum from 3-hole stretch on front going (1-over). 2 snowmen not acceptable, but its the first round. Hit 6 fairways, had 34 putts, and too many pitches/chips were mishit. So a 52 on the back (South) adds up to an even 100. Wind was hard on my eyes and face. Will try to practice sometime this week. Grass contact needs to improve.
Labels: golf


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home